The Australian Law Journal: Farewell reception for The Hon Acting Justice Peter W Young AO

Members of the bench, bar, academia and all walks of the legal profession gathered for a historic occasion to mark the retirement of the longest-serving General Editor of the The Australian Law Journal, the Hon Acting Justice Peter Wolstenholme Young AO, at a farewell reception held on Wednesday 27th April at the Supreme Court of New South Wales.

Acting Justice Young served on the bench for 27 years, a period rivalled by his editorship of the ALJ, which spans an incredible 24 years, from Volume 66 in 1992 to Volume 90 in 2016, producing 24 journal volumes, 288 parts, and totalling 21,644 pages in all.

His Honour is succeeded by another eminent sitting judge, the Hon Justice François Kunc of the Supreme Court of New South Wales, who takes on the role of the eighth General Editor of the ALJ, commencing with the May 2016 issue.

We at Thomson Reuters and the journals team express our warmest thanks for his Honour’s generous and prolific contributions and unwavering dedication to the journal and its readers, and wish him the best in all his future endeavours.


Left to right: Cheryle King, Ruth Higgins, The Hon Acting Justice Peter W Young AO, Clare Langford, Angelina Gomez, The Hon Justice François Kunc.



Presentation of a parting memento by Carl Olson, Thomson Reuters ANZ Product Management Director.



The ALJ through the ages, from Volume 1 in 1927 to the 80th anniversary issue in 2007, through to the latest bound volume of the journal.



Justice Young (left), with guests (left to right): The Hon Justice Dyson Heydon AC QC, Prof Anne Twomey and The Hon Justice Mark Leeming.



Guests pictured (left to right): Megan Smith, The Hon Justice Margaret Beazley AO, Adam Weir and Prof Anne Twomey.








Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.